Baltic Assembly Prize for Literature, the Arts and Science

The idea on establishment of the Baltic Assembly Prize was conceived in 1992. On 31 October 1993 in Tallinn, the Baltic Assembly adopted the decision to establish the Baltic Assembly Prize for Literature, the Arts and Science. With the Decision on the Amendment to the Statutes of the Baltic Assembly Prizes for Literature, the Arts and Science, new Regulations on the Baltic Assembly Prizes for Literature, the Arts and Science were adopted on 9 November 2012 in Vilnius, Lithuania.


The aim of the Prize is to support outstanding achievements in literature, the arts and science; demonstrate the common interests of the countries in this region in upholding of their national identity and self-esteem; create an opportunity to learn about the achievements of the neighbouring countries; maintain a continuous interest among the people in Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania about developments in the Baltic States; strengthen cooperation among the Baltic States in the fields of literature, the arts and science; encourage more and more people to become interested in the intellectual values and languages of the Baltic nations; and raise the level of literature, the arts and science in the Baltic States.

The Prize consists of a monetary prize, a certificate and a statuette, which are awarded annually during the Session of the Baltic Assembly.

The most recent awarding of the BA Prize took place during the 35th Session of the Baltic Assembly on 27 October 2016 in Rīga, Latvia.


BA Prizes in 2016 were awarded in:

LITERATURE: SIGITAS PARULSKIS, Lithuania: for his latest creative work, his broad and sharp worldview, his ability to grasp fundamental issues and his contemporary poetics.

THE ARTS: KRISTIJONAS VILDŽIŪNAS, Estonia: for his film “Seneca’s Day”, which is the first Estonian-Latvian-Lithuanian co-production project (2016).

SCIENCE: Prof MAIJA DAMBROVA, Latvia: for her scientific work on energy metabolism and her contribution to research of the mechanisms of action of the metabolic drug meldonium.






Photos by Administration of Saeima (author Ernests Dinka)




Statuettes of the Baltic Assembly Prize   /foto by Ernests Dinka /the Chancellery of the Saeima