Winners of the Baltic Assembly Prize in 2019

On 11 October 2019 in Riga (Latvia), meeting of the Joint Jury of the Baltic Assembly Prize for Literature, the Arts and Science was held. During the meeting, members of the Joint Jury assessed the works nominated for the Prizes and made a decision in regard to the awarding of them.

Among the Jury members there were highly acknowledged artists and experts from Latvia, Estonia and Lithuania - Inga Žolude, Orests Silabriedis, Gunita Zariņa, Triin Soone, Piret Tibbo-Hudgins, Marika Mänd, Vytautas Martinkus, Ramute Rachlevičiūte and Valdemaras Razumas.

Winners for the Baltic Assembly Prizes in 2019:

IN LITERATURE: Leelo Tungal (Estonia), writer, nominated for her autobiographic trilogy “Comrade Kid” (Tänapäev, 2018), with a special emphasis on the last book of the series “A Woman’s Touch” (Tänapäev, 2018), where Stalin’s era is depicted through the eyes of a child

IN THE ARTS: Normunds Šnē (Latvia), conductor, nominated for the performance at the concert in honour of 100-year anniversary of the Baltic states in the prominent Baltic Sea Festival in Stockholm's Berwaldhallenon August 28, 2018, with Sinfonietta Rīga and Tallinn Chamber Orchestra

IN SCIENCE: Jūras Banys (Lithuania), nominated for his outstanding contribution to research and innovations in ferroelectricity and phase transition as well as his devout leadership and professional scientific achievements

Other nominated candidates for the Baltic Assembly Prizes:

In Literature:

Andris Akmentiņš (Latvia), writer, nominated for his novel "Skolotāji" [Teachers] (Dienas Grāmata, 2018)

Kristina Sabaliauskaitė (Lithuania), PhD in History of Art, writer, nominated for her well-placed, visual and sensual prose, multi-layered and dense with cultural references, engaging and spiked with irony, exceptional, breath-taking and innovative in many ways

In the Arts:

Martti Helde (Estonia), writer-director, nominated for his feature film “Scandinavian silence”, in which aspects of silence and reservedness of human psychology are explored and new generation film-director’s unconventional approach forces the viewers to think along and truly engage in watching

Gražina Arlickaitė (Lithuania), nominated for her cultural achievements, professionalism and unique way of representing, reflecting on, analysing, and distributing the newest and the best Baltic and Nordic films

In Science:

Arnolds Laimonis Klotiņš (Latvia), musicologist, nominated for his monograph Music in Post-war Stalinism: Latvian Music Life and Creativity 1944-1953 (Riga: ILFA UL, 2018)

Anne Luik (Estonia), Life sciences, nominated for her inspiring dedication and outstanding scientific-organisational, educational and promotional work in the development of organic farming, environment-friendly plant protection and organic production not only in Estonia, but also in the whole Baltic region

The Prize awarding ceremony will be held on 28 November 2019 in Riga.


Photo by Chancellary of Saeima, author Ieva Ābele

The aim of the Prize is to support outstanding achievements in literature, the arts and science; demonstrate the common interests of the countries in this region in upholding of their national identity and self-esteem; create an opportunity to learn about the achievements of the neighbouring countries; maintain a continuous interest among the people in Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania about developments in the Baltic States; strengthen cooperation among the Baltic States in the fields of literature, the arts and science; encourage more and more people to become interested in the intellectual values and languages of the Baltic nations; and raise the level of literature, the arts and science in the Baltic States.

The Prize consists of a monetary prize, a certificate and a statuette, which are awarded annually during the Session of the Baltic Assembly.