Awarding Ceremony of the Baltic Assembly Prizes 2019

On 28 November 2019 in Riga (Latvia) the Baltic Assembly Prizes were awarded to Estonian writer Leelo Tungal, Latvian conductor Normunds Šnē and Lithuanian physicist Jūras Banys.

Leelo Tungal was awarded for her autobiographic trilogy "Comrade Kid" with a special emphasis on the last book of the series "A Woman’s Touch", where Stalin’s era is depicted through the eyes of a child. Normunds Šnē was given the Prize for the performance at the concert in honour of 100-year anniversary of the Baltic states in the prominent Baltic Sea Festival in Stockholm's Berwaldhallenon August 28, 2018, with Sinfonietta Riga and Tallinn Chamber Orchestra. Jūras Banys was awarded for his outstanding contribution to research and innovations in ferroelectricity and phase transition as well as his devout leadership and professional scientific achievements.

During the Ceremony the Baltic Innovation Prize was awarded to Latvian company UAVFACTORY SIA. The company is one of the world’s leading developers of fixed wing composite airframes, subsystems and accessories for small fixed wing unmanned aircraft industry. It provides high performance composite airframe design and manufacture for the unmanned aircraft industry. Aircrafts based on their airframes and subsystems are delivered to over 47 countries. Nominees for the Baltic Innovation Prize were also Estonian company HEPTA GROUP AIRBORNE OÜ and Lithuanian company AXIOMA METERING UAB.

Medals of the Baltic Assembly were awarded to:


Prizes of the Baltic Assembly


Family photo

President of the Baltic Assembly

Ceremony of the Baltic Assembly Prizes

Chairs of the delegations and the Prize winner Leelo Tungal

Chairs of the delegations and the Prize winner Normunds Šnē

Chairs of the delegations and the Prize winner Jūras Banys

President of the Baltic Assembly and Speakers of the parliaments of the Baltic States

Chairs of the Estonian, Latvian and Lithuanian delegations to the Baltic Assembly

© Photos by the Chancellary of Parliament of the Republic of Latvia (Author: Ieva Ābele)