Winners for the Baltic Assembly Prizes for Literature, the Arts and Science in 2020

On 2 October 2020, digital meeting of the Joint Jury of the Baltic Assembly Prize for Literature, the Arts and Science 2020 was held. During the meeting, members of the Joint Jury assessed the works nominated for the Prizes and made a decision on the winners of the Prize.

The aim of the Prize is to support outstanding achievements in literature, the arts and science; demonstrate the common interests of the countries in this region in upholding of their national identity and self-esteem; create an opportunity to learn about the achievements of the neighbouring countries; maintain a continuous interest among the people in Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania about developments in the Baltic states; strengthen cooperation among the Baltic States in the fields of literature, the arts and science; encourage more and more people to become interested in the intellectual values and languages of the Baltic nations; and raise the level of literature, the arts and science in the Baltic States.

Joint Jury of the Baltic Assembly was composed of Triin Soone, Piret Tibbo-Hudgins and Jaan Ross from Estonia, Kęstutis Nastopka, Ramute Rachlevičiūte and Valdemaras Razumas from Lithuania as well as Inga Žolude, Edīte Tišheizere-Leščinska and Andrejs Krasņikovs from Latvia. 

Winners for the Baltic Assembly Prizes for Literature, the Arts and Science in 2020: 

In Literature:  

Birutė Jonuškaitė, novelist, poet and essayist, nominated for her novel cycle "Maranta" and "Maestro", which belong with the long, branched-out texts that weave numerous storylines and created detailed characters, which possess the versatility and depth of the classic canon, and which raise the language to the appropriate heights also for the hefty book of conversations "Laikas ir likimai" ("Time and Destiny").

In the Arts:

Kristīne Briede and Audrius Stonys, directors, nominated for meditative documentary essay "Bridges of Time" (2018), which was co-produced by Lithuanian, Latvian and Estonian studios and portrays the less-remembered generation of cinema poets of the Baltic New Wave.

In Science: 

Roberts Eglītis, Member of the Latvian Academy of Science, nominated for work cycle: "Theoretical predictions of new materials for energy storage and harvesting".

Other nominated candidates for the Baltic Assembly Prizes for Literature, the Arts and Science in 2020:

In Literature: 

Mart Kivastik, writer, nominated for his novel "Taevatrepp" ("Stairway to Heaven", published by Väike Oömuusika 2019), in which the author has chosen the right means to capture one life in its entirety with simplicity and beauty.

Andris Akmentiņš, writer, nominated for his novel  "Skolotāji" [Teachers] (Dienas Grāmata, 2018).

In the Arts:

Šarūnas Sauka, painter, nominated for the unique iconography of paintings, principles of painting, which are closely related to surrealism and magical realism, for his phantasmagorical nightmare visions and hallucinations, which are rooted in reality, fed by biblical and literary visual images of hell, paradise and purgatory, which have evolved through the history of fine arts.

Silvija Grosa, Head of the Art Academy of Latvia Art History Department, nominated for the fundamental result of her longstanding research – monograph "Dekors Rīgas Jūgendstila perioda arhitektūrā" (Decor in the Architecture of Riga of the Art Nouveau Period), Riga: Neputns, 2019, 592 pp., ISBN 9789934565809)

In Science: 

Anna Verschik, linguist, nominated for her broad view of socio-linguistics, long-standing contribution to research communication and studies as well as numerous scientific publication and research papers in the field of language contacts in Estonia, Lithuania and Latvia.

Jurgis Kazimieras Staniškis, the initiator of transdisciplinary research and studies in the Baltic Region, nominated for his transdisciplinary research "Sustainable development: global and local solutions".