Organisational Structure of the Baltic Assembly

Statutes of the Baltic Assembly define it as an international organisation established with the aim of promoting cooperation between the parliaments of the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Latvia and the Republic of Lithuania. The Baltic Assembly is an entity under international law, and it adopts decisions in compliance with the principles of equality, mutual benefit and unanimity.

The Baltic Assembly consists of members of three delegations – 12-16 parliamentarians from each member state who are appointed in accordance with the principle of proportional political representation in each national parliament. Each member of the Baltic Assembly participates in the work of one of five standing committees or Presidium.

Presidium organises the work of the Baltic Assembly and is composed by Chair of each national delegation and a deputy appointed by the parliament of the respective State. The work of the Presidium is directed by the President and two Vice Presidents of the Baltic Assembly. Each year one of the Baltic States takes over the Presidency (see the rotation here). 

Members of the Baltic Assembly have the right to initiate documents on topical issues, which are then discussed in the committees and national delegations while taking into account the opinion of experts. The Baltic Assembly may express its position and turn to international organisations and institutions, as well as to parliaments or governments of other countries in form of resolution, declaration, recommendation, appeal, decision, statement, proposal, opinion or memorandum. Adopted documents by the Baltic Assembly Session might be submitted to the Baltic Council of Ministers, thus providing a direct link to executive power of the Baltic States.

The official languages of the Baltic Assembly are Estonian, Latvian and Lithuanian. Other languages might be used in the cases specified by agreement among the delegations.

To allocate financing required for its work, the draft budget of the Baltic Assembly for the coming year is approved during its annual session; decisions concerning the budget must be taken unanimously by all the national delegations. The funds of the Baltic Assembly consist of the contributions paid by the national parliaments.

The supreme body of the Baltic Assembly is the Session. Sessions shall be regular (once a year) and extraordinary. The work of the Baltic Assembly is coordinated by the Presidium consisting of six members - the Chairs of national delegations and their deputies. Regular working bodies of the Baltic Assembly are its standing committees, the Budget and Audit Committee and the Drafting Committee.