Education, Science and Culture Committee

Members of the Committee:

  • Signe Kivi, Chair, Estonia
  • Irena Šiaulienė, Vice Chair, Lithuania
  • Dace Bluķe, Vice Chair, Latvia
  • Helle-Moonika Helme, Member, Estonia
  • Vytautas Juozapaitis, Member, Lithuania
  • Levutė Staniuvienė, Member, Lithuania
  • Dagmāra Beitnere-Le Galla, Member, Latvia
  • Iveta Benhena-Bēkena, Member, Latvia
  • Janīna Kursīte-Pakule, Member, Latvia

Priorities of the Committee in 2020 under the Estonian presidency

  • Cultural cooperation of the Baltic States: towards a region of minimum environmental footprint
  • Strategic partnerships of higher educational institutions of the Baltic States (joint Bachelor and Master programmes and scholarships for students from the Baltic States; development of joint Baltic PhD programmes; joint scientific publications and research projects)
  • CERN: cooperation of the Baltic States
  • Implementation of the recommendations of the Baltic Assembly:
    • Joint science and research projects of the Baltic States
    • Implementation of the Agreement between the governments of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania regarding automatic recognition of academic qualifications concerning higher education
    • New Memorandum of Understanding on Closer Cooperation of the Baltic States in Higher Education, Research and Innovation of the Baltic States
    • Cooperation in vocational education and training
    • Coordination of activities in regard to joint vocational education and training programmes in bilateral and trilateral format
    • Baltic Culture Fund (translation and publishing of works of the Baltic Assembly Prize winners for Literature)

Priorities of the Committee for 2016-2019:

Priorities of the Education, Science and Culture Committee of the Baltic Assembly for 2016 – 2019 (download