Winners for the Baltic Assembly Prizes for Literature, the Arts and Science in 2017

On 3 October 2017 in Rīga, meeting of the Joint Jury of the Baltic Assembly Prize for Literature, the Arts and Science 2017 was held. During the meeting, members of the Joint Jury assessed the works nominated for the Prizes and made a decision in regard to the awarding of the Prizes.

The aim of the Prize is to support outstanding achievements in literature, the arts and science; demonstrate the common interests of the countries in this region in upholding of their national identity and self-esteem; create an opportunity to learn about the achievements of the neighbouring countries; maintain a continuous interest among the people in Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania about developments in the Baltic States; strengthen cooperation among the Baltic States in the fields of literature, the arts and science; encourage more and more people to become interested in the intellectual values and languages of the Baltic nations; and raise the level of literature, the arts and science in the Baltic States.

Joint Jury of the Baltic Assembly was composed of Karl-Martin Sinijärv (Estonia), Saale Kareda (Estonia), Maris Väli-Täht (Estonia), Prof. Vytautas Martinkus (Lithuania), Doc. Petras Skirmantas (Lithuania), Prof. Dr. Rimantas Jankauskas (Lithuania), Inga Žolude (Latvia), Prof. Valdis Muktupāvels (Latvia) and Doc. Gunita Zariņa (Latvia).


Winners for the Baltic Assembly Prizes for Literature, the Arts and Science in 2017 are the following:

In Literature:

  • Mr Vladas Braziūnas (Lithuania), poet, essayist and translator, nominated for his poetic discoveries made while delving into the Baltic worldview and the linguistic heritage of the Lithuanian, Latvian and other languages and as well as for his translations from Latvian and other languages and outstanding international projects on modern poetry

In the Arts:

  • Ms Laima Slava (Latvia), author, editor, nominated for the excellent professional contribution to the theory development of the art science, as well as for the outstanding achievement in the book publishing sector, especially in publishing of art books, which significantly have enriched the current cultural landscape and furthermore foster the international recognition of Latvian culture

In Science:

  • Prof. Andres Metspalu (Estonia), scientist, researcher, founder and director of the Estonian Genome Center, nominated for his innovative, diverse and lasting contribution to gene technology and molecular diagnostics



Other nominated candidates for the Baltic Assembly Prizes for Literature, the Arts and Science in 2017 were the following:

In Literature:

  • Ms Maimu Berg (Estonia), writer, translator, journalist, critic, nominated for her collection of short stories "Hitler in Mustjalas"
  • Ms Gundega Repše (Latvia), writer, nominated for the idea of the historic novels’ "We. Latvia. The XX Century"


In the Arts:

  • Mr Märt-Matis Lill (Estonia), composer, nominated for new original Estonian contemporary opera "Into the Fire" (Tulleminek)
  • Ms Jurgita Dronina (Lithuania), one of the most acclaimed ballet dancers of the early 21st century, nominated for her impressive performances on the greatest stages of the world


In Science:

  • Prof.habil.Dr. Limas Kupčinskas (Lithuania), a physician and gastroenterologist of international acclaim, nominated for his achievements in the study of inflammatory and precancerous diseases of the liver and the gastrointestinal tract, development of new treatment methods, and contribution to the reinforcement of research cooperation in the Baltic States
  • Prof., Dr. habil.philol. Benedikts Kalnačs (Latvia), researcher, nominated for his contribution to the comparative studied of Baltic literary cultures and for his monograph 20th Century Baltic Drama: Postcolonial Narratives, Decolonial Options





Photos by Administration of Saeima (author Ernests Dinka)