THE BALTIC ASSEMBLY

RESOLUTION

on the Illegally Occupied Real Estate of the Baltic States

The Baltic Assembly,

emphasising that the Soviet occupation of three Baltic states - Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania - in 1940 and again in 1944 and 1945 resulted in the seizure of the buildings of their diplomatic and consular missions by the Soviet Union together with their land properties in several European capitals;

noting that these buildings of diplomatic and consular missions and lands have been up to the present illegally held by the Russian Federation;

taking into account that the issue of these properties is still unresolved and that they have not been returned to their lawful owners,

insists that the property concerned should be returned to the respective Baltic states;

urges the Governments of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania (jointly) to take the necessary steps to inform the world community and relevant international bodies of the existing situation and to resolve the matter with the countries concerned.

Pärnu, April 27, 1997