

27th Session of the Baltic Assembly 14th Baltic Council

Conference "Baltic Sea Strategy and Energy Security" 4-6 December 2008, Kirsimäe Ait, Viljandi, Estonia

Thursday, 4 December

		Arrival of the participants Accommodation
16:00		Registration Grand Hotel, Tartu 11, Viljandi, www.ghv.ee
18:00 19:30	_	BA Presidium meeting Meeting room of the Grand Hotel
20:00		Reception hosted by the Viljandi City Government and Viljandi County Government Premises of the County Government

Friday, 5 December

Thurst Becomber		
7:45 – 16:30	Registration <i>Kirsimäe Ait, Tasuja 6, Viljandi, <u>www.folk.ee</u></i>	
08:00-08:30	 Joint meeting between the BA Education, Science and Culture Committee and the BA Economic Affairs, Communications and Informatic Committee Joint meeting between BA Legal Affairs and Security Committee and the BA Social Affairs Committee 	
08:30-09:00	 Joint meeting between the BA Legal Affairs and Security Committee and the BA Economic Affairs, Communications and Informatic Committee 	
9:00 – 10:00	Working breakfast between BA Presidium and the delegation of the GUAM Parliamentary Assembly	
9:00 - 10:00	 BA Committees' meetings BA Social Affairs Committee BA Economic Affairs, Communications and Informatic Committee BA Environmental Protection and Energy Committee BA Education, Science and Culture Committee 	

➤ BA Legal Affairs and Security Committee

10:15 Opening of the 27th BA Session *Chairs:*

- ➤ Mr Trivimi Velliste, President of the Baltic Assembly, Chairman of the BA Estonian delegation
- ➤ Mr Mantas Adomėnas, Vice President of the Baltic Assembly, Chairman of the BA Lithuanian delegation
- ➤ Mrs Ērika Zommere, Vice President of the Baltic Assembly, Chair of the BA Latvian delegation
 - Mr Trivimi Velliste, President of the Baltic Assembly
 - Mr Kalle Jents, Mayor of Viljandi
 - H.E. Mrs Ene Ergma, President of the Riigikogu
 - H.E. Mr Arūnas Valinskas, Speaker of the Seimas
 - H.E. Mr Gundars Daudze, Speaker of the Saeima
 - Mr Giorgi Tsereteli, Vice Speaker of the Georgian parliament
 - Mr Erkki Tuomioja, President of the Nordic Council
 - Mr Luc Sevenhans, Member of the Benelux Parliament, representing President of the Benelux Parliament

Time limit for welcome speeches- 3-5 minutes

11:15 Baltic Assembly Medals Awarding Ceremony

12:00 - 13:30 Opening of the Conference "Baltic Sea Strategy and Energy Security" *Moderators:*

- > Mr Toivo Klaar, Head of the Representation of the European Commission
- ➤ Mr Mantas Adomėnas, Vice President of the Baltic Assembly, Chairman of the BA Lithuanian delegation

Opening by Trivimi Velliste, President of the Baltic Assembly

First topic "Baltic Sea Strategy"

- Ms Kaja Tael, Undersecretary of European Union Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Estonia
- Mr Deividas Matulionis, State Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Lithuania
- Mr. Ēriks Zunda, Parliamentary Secretary of the Ministry for Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Latvia
- Mr Viktor Trasberg, Associate Professor, Faculty of Economics, Head of Centre for Baltic Studies, University of Tartu, Estonia
- Mrs Siv Friðleifsdóttir, Member of the Nordic Council, Iceland

Time limit for the speeches – 7 *minutes*.

Questions and answers Conclusions

13:30 -15:00 Lunch break

15:00 - 16:30 Second topic "Security Aspects of the Energy policy"

Moderators:

- ➤ Mr Vents Armands Krauklis, Vice Chair of the Economic Affairs, Communications and Infrastructure Committee of the Baltic Assembly, Chairman of the Energy Subcommittee of the Economic Affairs Committee of the Saeima
- ➤ Mr Peep Mardiste, Member of the Board, Estonian Green Movement-FoE
- Mr Mart Jüssi, Chairman of the Working Group of the Baltic Sea Parliamentary Conference on Energy and Climate Change, Chairman of the Environment Protection and Energy Committee of the Baltic Assembly, Estonia
- Mr Jonas Kazlauskas, Deputy Director of Energy Agency, Lithuania
- Mr Alnis Bāliņš, Director of the Corporate Strategy Department, AS Latvenergo, Latvia
- Mr Kent Olsson, MP, Member of the Nordic Council Presidium, NC Vice-President 2009, Sweden
- Mr Ali Masimli, MP, Member of the Azerbaijani delegation to the GUAM Parliamentary Assembly
- Mr Einari Kisel, Deputy Secretary General on Energy, Ministry of Economic Affairs and Communications, Estonia

Time limit for speeches – 7 minutes.

Questions and answers Conclusions

16:30 Coffee break

16:30 Press point

17:00 27th BA Session continued Chairs:

- ➤ Mr Trivimi Velliste, President of the Baltic Assembly, Chairman of the BA Estonian delegation
- ➤ Mr Mantas Adomènas, Vice President of the Baltic Assembly, Chairman of the BA Lithuanian delegation
- ➤ Mrs Ērika Zommere, Vice President of the Baltic Assembly, Chair of the BA Latvian delegation

Report of the Presidium of the Baltic Assembly

• Mr Trivimi Velliste, President of the Baltic Assembly

Questions and answers

17:30 - 18:30 BA Budget and Audit Committee meeting

17:30 - 18:30	Meeting of the BA Drafting Committee

20:00 Baltic Assembly Prizes Awarding Ceremony

Theatre "Ugala", Vaksali 7, Viljandi

21:30 Reception hosted by the Presidium of the Baltic Assembly

Saturday, 6 December

9:00 - 10:00 Registration

Kirsimäe Ait, Tasuja 6, Viljandi, www.folk.ee

08:45 - 09:45 BA Presidium's meeting with the chairmen and vice-chairmen of the BA committees

10:00 - 11:00 14th Baltic Council

Chairs:

- ➤ Mr Trivimi Velliste, President of the Baltic Assembly
- ➤ Mr Urmas Paet, Chairman of the Cooperation Council of the Baltic Council of Ministers
 - Mr Trivimi Velliste, President of the Baltic Assembly
 - Mr Urmas Paet, Chairman of the Cooperation Council of the Baltic Council of Ministers, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Estonia
 - Mr Deividas Matulionis, State Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Lithuania

Questions and answers

Signing of the Joint Statement of the 14th Baltic Council

11:00	Coffee break
11:00	Press conference
11:30	Working lunch of the Baltic Council of Ministers

11:30 Continuation of the 27th BA session

Chairs:

- > Mr Trivimi Velliste, President of the Baltic Assembly, Chairman of the BA Estonian delegation
- ➤ Mr Mantas Adomènas, Vice President of the Baltic Assembly, Chairman of the BA Lithuanian delegation
- ➤ Mrs Ērika Zommere, Vice President of the Baltic Assembly, Chair of the BA Latvian delegation

Reports of the BA committees on the activities in 2008 and priorities for 2009 and introduction to the draft documents, adoption of the documents

- Mrs Tatjana Muravjova, Chair of the BA Social Affairs Committee
- Mr Peep Aru, Chairman of the BA Economic Affairs, Communications and Informatic Committee
- Mr Mart Jüssi, Chairman of the BA Environmental Protection and Energy Committee
- Mr Kalvi Kõva, Chairman of the BA Education, Science and Culture Committee
- Mr Jaak Salumets, Chairman of the BA Legal Affairs and Security Committee
- Mr Peep Aru, Chairman of the BA Budget and Audit Committee

12:30 Adoption of the Final document of the 27th BA session

Election of the President and Vice Presidents of the Baltic Assembly 2009 Election of the Chairpersons and Vice Chairpersons of the BA Committees

Speech of the newly elected President of the Baltic Assembly

Signing of the Final document of the 27th Session of the Baltic Assembly

13:00 Lunch

Departure of the delegations