



32nd Session of the Baltic Assembly and 19th Baltic Council 28–29 November 2013, Riga

Saeima of the Republic of Latvia

Thursday, 28 November

Arrival and accommodation of participants

Radisson Blu Rīdzene Hotel

Reimersa iela 1

16:00–19:00 Registration

Radisson Blu Rīdzene Hotel

17:30–19:00 Meetings of the Presidium and committees of the Baltic Assembly

Radisson Blu Rīdzene Hotel

- Meeting of the Presidium, room Vērmanis

Meeting of the Education, Science and Culture Committee, room Arkādijs

Meeting of the Economics, Energy and Innovation Committee, room Viesturs

Meeting of the Legal Affairs and Security Committee, room Bastejs 3

Meeting of the Natural Resources and Environment Committee, room Bastejs 2

- Meeting of the Welfare Committee, room Bastejs 1

20:00 Baltic Assembly Medal Awarding Ceremony

Baltic Assembly Prize Awarding Ceremony

Baltic Innovation Prize 2013 Awarding Ceremony

Reception hosted by the Presidium

Architecture and Media Centre H₂O 6, Ūdens iela 6

Friday, 29 November

09:00–12:30 **Registration**

Grand vestibule, Saeima, Jēkaba iela 11

08:00-09:00 Meeting of the Budget and Audit Committee

Guest Room, Saeima, Jēkaba iela 11

09:00–10:00 Meeting between the Presidium and chairpersons and

vice chairpersons of the committees (acting as the Drafting Committee)

Red Room, Saeima, Jēkaba iela 11

10:15–10:45 Opening of the 32nd Session of the Baltic Assembly

Plenary Chamber, Saeima, Jēkaba iela 11

Chaired by:

- Mr. Raimonds Vējonis, President of the Baltic Assembly
- Mrs. Laine Randjärv, Vice President of the Baltic Assembly
- Mrs. Giedre Purvaneckienė, Vice President of the Baltic Assembly
- **H.E. Mrs. Solvita Āboltiņa**, Speaker of the Saeima
- H.E. Mrs. Ene Ergma, President of the Riigikogu
- H.E. Mrs. Loreta Graužinienė, Speaker of the Seimas

19th Baltic Council 10:45-12:30 Plenary Chamber, Saeima, Jēkaba iela 11 Chaired by: - Mr. Raimonds Vējonis, President of the Baltic Assembly - Mr. Daniels Pavluts, Minister for Economics of the Republic of Latvia Mr. Raimonds Vējonis, President of the Baltic Assembly - Mr. Daniels Pavluts, Minister for Economics of the Republic of Latvia - H.E. Mr. Urmas Paet, Minister for Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Estonia - Mr. Neris Germanas, Vice-Minister for Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Lithuania **Questions and answers Debate** Signing of the Joint Statement of the 19th Baltic Council Plenary Chamber, Saeima, Jēkaba iela 11 12:30-13:00 **Press conference** Red Room, Saeima, Jēkaba iela 11 12:30-14:00 **Lunch break** Cafeteria, Saeima, Jēkaba iela 11 13:30-14:45 Lunch for the Speakers of the parliaments of the Baltic States and the chairpersons of the national delegations to the Baltic Assembly 14:00-18:30 Continuation of the 32nd Session of the Baltic Assembly Plenary Chamber, Saeima, Jēkaba iela 11 14:00-15:30 Development of a joint regional tourism concept Joint projects in health resort sector and joint health care projects Chaired by: Mr. Aivar Riisalu, Vice Chairman of the Estonia delegation to the Baltic Assembly - Introductory remarks by Mr. Atis Lejinš, Chairman of the Economics, Energy and Innovation Committee Introductory remarks by Mr. Vitālijs Orlovs, Chairman of the Welfare Committee Mr. Erikas Mačiūnas, Vice Minister for Health of the Republic of Lithuania Debate Proactive and intelligence-led approach towards fight against organised crime Fight against VAT fraud Chaired by: Mr. Jānis Vucāns, Deputy Secretary of the Saeima, Chairman of the BA Education, Science and Culture Committee Introductory remarks by Mr. Jānis Ādamsons,

- Chairman of the Legal Affairs and Security Committee
- Mr. Andris Vilks, Minister for Finance of the Republic of Latvia

Debate

Baltic cooperation in research and innovation

Chaired by: Mr. Rytas Kupčinskas, Vice Chairman of the Lithuanian delegation to the Baltic **Assembly**

- Introductory remarks by Mr. Jānis Vucāns, Chairman of the Education, Science and Culture Committee
- Mr. Toivo Räim, Adviser at the Research Policy Department of the Ministry of Education and Research of the Republic of Estonia

Debate

Coffee break 15:30-15:45

Voting Room, Saeima, Jēkaba iela 11

15:45–16:45 **Digital Single Market**

Chaired by:

- Mr. Raimonds Vējonis, President of the Baltic Assembly
- Mrs. Laine Randjärv, Vice President of the Baltic Assembly
- **Mrs. Giedre Purvaneckienė**, Vice President of the Baltic Assembly
- Dr. Signe Bāliņa, President of the Latvian Information and Communications Technology Association
- Mr. Mait Heidelberg, Adviser at the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Communications of the Republic of Estonia
- Mr. Valentinas Kvietkus, Head of the Knowledge Society Division, Innovation and Knowledge Society Department, Ministry of Economy of the Republic of Lithuania

Debate

16:45 Continuation of the 32nd Session of the Baltic Assembly

Addresses by foreign delegations and guests

- Mr. Jānis Zuļķis, Member of the 3rd Latvian Youth Parliament
- Ms. Marit Nybakk, President of the Nordic Council, Norway
- Mr. Marcel Oberweis, President of the Benelux Parliament
- Mr. Zurab Abashidze, Chairman of the GUAM Parliamentary Assembly, Deputy Speaker of the Parliament of Georgia
- Mr. Paulius Vertelka, representative of the Joint Baltic American National Committee and Lithuanian American Council

Report of the Presidium

- Mr. Raimonds Vējonis, President of the Baltic Assembly

Debate

Report of the Budget and Audit Committee

- Mr. Ivans Ribakovs, Chairman of the Budget and Audit Committee

Debate

Adoption of the Final Document of the 32nd Session of the Baltic Assembly

Election of the President and Vice Presidents of the Baltic Assembly for 2014

Election of the chairpersons and vice chairpersons of the committees

Address by the newly elected President of the Baltic Assembly

18:00 Signing of the Final Document of the 32nd Session of the Baltic Assembly Red Room, Saeima, Jēkaba iela 11