



The 33rd Session of the Baltic Assembly and 20th Baltic Council 23 – 24 October 2014, Tallinn Riigikogu of the Republic of Estonia

Thursday, 23 October

Arrival and accommodation of participants

Nordic Hotel Forum

Viru väljak 3, <u>www.nordichotels.eu</u>

- 16:00–19:00 Registration in the hotel lobby
- 17:30–18:30 Internal meetings of the Presidium and committees of the Baltic Assembly

At the Nordic Hotel Forum

- Meeting of the Presidium, *meeting room Capella*
- Meeting of the Education, Science and Culture Committee, *Altair*
- Meeting of the Economics, Energy and Innovation Committee, *Miitsar*
- Meeting of the Legal Affairs and Security Committee, suite
- Meeting of the Natural Resources and Environment Committee, Vega
- Meeting of the Welfare Committee, Arcturus
- 18:30 19:00 Meeting of the Budget and Audit Committee, *Mütsar*

18:45 – 19:00	Welcome of winners of the essay competition ¹
	by the Presidium and other Members of the Baltic Assembly
	At the Nordic Hotel Forum, meeting room Capella

20:00 Baltic Assembly Medal Awarding Ceremony Baltic Assembly Prize Awarding Ceremony Baltic Innovation Prize 2014 Awarding Ceremony Reception hosted by the Presidium Estonian Concert Hall, Estonia blv 4, <u>www.concert.ee</u>

Friday, 24 October

08:00-12:30	Registration In the lobby of the Riigikogu, Lossi plats 1A
08:00 – 09:30	Meeting between the Presidium and chairpersons and vice chairpersons of the committees (acting as the Drafting Committee) Small Conference Halls of the Riigikogu L333
10:00 – 10:30	Opening of the 33rd Session of the Baltic AssemblyAwarding of the Winners of the Baltic Way 25th AnniversaryEssay CompetitionRiigikogu Plenary Chamber, Lossi Plats 1 AChaired by:- Mrs. Laine Randjärv, President of the Baltic Assembly- Mrs. Giedrė Purvaneckienė, Vice President of the Baltic Assembly- Mr. Jānis Vucāns, Vice President of the Baltic Assembly
	 H.E. Mr. Eiki Nestor, President of the Riigikogu of the Republic of Estonia H.E. Mrs. Loreta Graužinienė, Speaker of the Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania H.E. Mrs. Solvita Āboltiņa, Speaker of the Saeima of the Republic of Latvia
10:30–13:00	 20th Baltic Council Riigikogu Plenary Chamber, Lossi Plats 1 A Chaired by: Mrs. Laine Randjärv, President of the Baltic Assembly H.E. Mr. Urmas Paet, Chairman of the Cooperation Council of the Baltic Council of Ministers, Minister for Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Estonia
	 Mrs. Laine Randjärv, President of the Baltic Assembly H.E. Mr. Urmas Paet, Chairman of the Cooperation Council of the Baltic Council of Ministers, Minister for Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Estonia Mr. Neris Germanas, Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Lithuania Ms.Dace Melbārde, Minister for Culture of the Republic of Latvia
12:00-12:15	Questions and answers Debate Press point of the Speakers White Hall of the Riigikogu
12:15	Signing of the Joint Statement of the 20th Baltic Council <i>White Hall of the Riigikogu</i>
12:15 – 12:45	Press conference White Hall of the Riigikogu
12:30 - 14:00	Lunch break At Riigikogu

13:00 – 15:00	Working lunch for the Speakers of the parliaments of the Baltic States and the chairpersons of the national delegations to the Baltic Assembly Restaurant in the Old Town
14:15–18:30	Continuation of the 33rd Session of the Baltic Assembly <i>Riigikogu Plenary Chamber, Lossi Plats 1 A</i>
14:15 – 14:45	Session 1 Digital signatures – as a tool of removing borders in the Region Chaired by: Mr. Sven Sester, Chairman of the Economics, Energy and Innovation Committee of the Baltic Assembly
	 Mr. Hannes Kiivet, Head of Interoperability Section, Architecture Department, Estonian Information System Authority Debate
14:45 – 15:15	Session 2 Development of transport and infrastructure in the Region Chaired by: Mr. Rytas Kupčinskas, Vice Chairman of the Lithuanian delegation to the Baltic Assembly
	 Mr. Arenijus Jackus, Director of Development and International Relations Department, Ministry of Transport and Communications, Lithuania Debate
15:15 – 15:45	Session 3 EU Eastern Partnership Chaired by: Mr. Atis Lejiņš, Vice Chairman of the Economics, Energy and Innovation Committee of the Baltic Assembly
	 Mr. Ojārs Ēriks Kalniņš, Chairman of the Saeima Foreign Affairs Committee, Latvia Debate
15:45–16:15	Coffee break
16:15 - 17:30	 Safe societies and regional security Chaired by: Mrs. Laine Randjärv, President of the Baltic Assembly Mrs. Giedrė Purvaneckienė, Vice President of the Baltic Assembly Mr. Jānis Vucāns, Vice President of the Baltic Assembly

Session 1 10 years of the Baltic States in NATO: defence capabilities,

pooling	and	sharing
r · · · 0		0

- Mr	. Raimonds	Vējonis,	Minister	of Defence	e of Latvia
------	------------	----------	----------	------------	-------------

- **Mr. Sven Sakkov**, Undersecretary for Defence Policy, Estonian Ministry of Defence

Debate

Session 2 Defence and security at a time of fiscal, operational and strategic transition

- **Mr. Antanas Valys**, Vice-Minister of National Defence, Lithuania

Debate

Session 3 Soft power – can we jointly respond to it?

- **Mr. Jānis Kārkliņš,** Director of the NATO STRATCOM Centre of Excellence

Debate

17:30	Continuation of the 33 rd Session of the Baltic Assembly
-------	---

Addresses by foreign delegations and guests

Report of the Presidium - Mrs. Laine Randjärv, President of the Baltic Assembly Debate

Report of the Budget and Audit Committee - Mr. Sven Sester, Chairman of the Budget and Audit Committee Debate

Adoption of the Final Document of the 33rd Session of the Baltic Assembly

Election of the President and Vice Presidents of the Baltic Assembly for 2015

Election of the chairpersons and vice chairpersons of the committees

Address by the newly elected President of the Baltic Assembly

- 18:30Signing of the Final Document of the 33rdSession of the BalticAssemblyWhite Hall of the Riigikogu
- 19:00Reception hosted by the Presidium
At the parliament