Joint Jury to choose the winners of the Prize of the Baltic Assembly

On 6-7 October in Riga, the meeting of the Joint Jury of the Baltic Assembly will take place. During the meeting, members of the Joint Jury will assess the works nominated for the Prizes and decide the winners of the competition. 

Among the Jury members there are highly acknowledged artists and experts from Latvia, Estonia and Lithuania - Elīna Līce, Ilze Jansone, Andrejs Krasņikovs, Indrek Mesikepp, Kadi-Ell Tähiste, Linda Lainvoo, Eugenijus Ališanka, Ramutė Rachlevičiūtė and Valdemaras Razumas.  

The aim of the Prize is to support outstanding achievements in literature, the arts and science; demonstrate the common interests of the countries in this region in upholding of their national identity and self-esteem; create an opportunity to learn about the achievements of the neighbouring countries; maintain a continuous interest among the people in Latvia, Estonia and Lithuania about developments in the Baltic states; strengthen cooperation among the Baltic states in the fields of literature, the arts and science; encourage more and more people to become interested in the intellectual values and languages of the Baltic nations; and raise the level of literature, the arts and science in the Baltic states.

The Prize consists of a monetary prize, a certificate and a statuette, which are awarded annually during the Session of the Baltic Assembly. This year the Prize of the Baltic Assembly will be awarded on 28 October in Riga. 

Candidates for the Baltic Assembly Prize 2022

In Literature

Ms Inese Zandere, poetess, nominated for her poetry collection “Mantojumi” (“Inheritance”) (published in 2020)
Ms Kai Aareleid, prosaist and poetess, nominated for her novel “Vaikne ookean” (“Pacific Ocean’’, published in 2021)
Mr Antanas A. Jonynas, translator and poet, nominated for the collection of sonnets “Naujieji sonetai”

In the Arts

Mr Dāvis Sīmanis, film director, nominated for his full-length feature film “Gads pirms kara” (“The Year Before the War”) (2021)
Mr Peeter Laurits, artist, nominated for his outstanding and versatile work as an artist and for his project “Biotoopia”
Mr Šarūnas Sauka, painter, nominated for the unique iconography of paintings, principles of painting, which are closely related to surrealism and magical realism, for his phantasmagorical nightmare visions and hallucinations, which are rooted in reality, fed by biblical and literary visual images of hell, paradise, and purgatory, which have evolved through the history of fine arts

In Science

PhD. Gustavs Strenga, Dr. hist. Andris Levāns, Mg.philol., Renāte Berga, Mg.hum Laura Kreigere-Liepiņa nominated for the collective monograph “Rīgas jezuītu kolēģijas grāmatu krājuma (1583-1621) katalogs. Krājuma vesture un rekonstrukcija”, (“Catalogue of the Riga Jesuit College Book Collection (1583-1621): History and Reconstruction of the Collection”) (2021)
Dr Hilkka Hiiop, professor at the Estonian Academy of Arts, and Dr Tiina-Mall Kreem, curator at the Kumu Art Museum, nominated for the project “Christian Ackermann – Tallinna Pheidias, ülbe ja andekas’’ (’’Christian Ackermann – Tallinn’s Phidias, Arrogant and Talented’’)
Prof. Habil. Dr. Jurgis Kazimieras Staniškis, the initiator of transdisciplinary research and studies in the Baltic region, nominated for his transdisciplinary research “Sustainable development: local and global solutions”

Our partners

National and international partners of the Baltic Assembly